Friday, December 4, 2009

Jakarta Globe Wins 3 Journalism Awards

Yudhi Sukma Wijaya's shot of the Lestari Jaipong troupe preparing for their makeshift performance in East Jakarta won an Anugerah Adiwarta Sampoerna award for Best Arts and Culture Photo. (JG Photo)

In its first year of eligibility, the Jakarta Globe picked up three prestigious Anugerah Adiwarta Sampoerna awards for excellence in journalism on Thursday evening during a ceremony at the Djakarta Theater in Central Jakarta.

The fourth annual competition honored print, online and television journalists nationwide in 21 categories. The Globe was named a finalist in nine categories this year, more than any other publication.

Globe investigative reporter Dewi Kurniawati was awarded the inaugural Herawati Diah Prize as the country’s most promising female journalist. The prize is named after one of the country’s first female journalists.

Herawati, 92, whose career as a reporter and editor at several publications began before World War II, presented the award personally to Dewi.

Globe photographer Yudhi Sukma Wijaya won two awards — one for Best Political News Photograph and another for Best Arts and Culture Photograph.

The Globe tied with Gatra magazine for the most awards on the night. Gatra reporter Asrori Karni won three awards himself, the most of any journalist.

Tempo magazine reporter Bagja Hidayat picked up two awards, one for arts and culture reporting and one for business reporting.

In the broadcast category, Metro TV won for investigative reporting and RCTI won for documentary reporting.

Dewi was also a finalist in the investigative reporting category for a series on migrant workers. Globe reporter Hera Diani was a finalist for the investigative series “The Cost of Smoking.”

Staff photographers Jurnasyanto Sukarno and Safir Makki were both finalists in two categories.

The awards were founded by PT HM Sampoerna in 2006 to promote excellence in journalism. The awards “hope to motivate journalists to continue to improve the quality of their work,” the company said in a release.

More than 1,000 entries were received for this year’s awards. Independent jurors from across the media, arts, education and business were selected to judge the awards. It is the country’s largest awards program for journalism.

No comments: